QUE FAIRE À DRAKE BAY

Les visites guidées et les forfaits personnalisés de Drake Bay Backpackers constituent le meilleur moyen de découvrir le Corcovado et ses environs. Nous pouvons organiser des excursions d'un ou plusieurs jours à San Pedrillo et Sirena, des sorties de plongée avec tuba ou sous-marine autour de l'île Cano, de l'équitation, ou vous emmener observer les baleines et dauphins.

Une fois dans le village, la nature vous entoure. Drake Bay est le genre d’endroit où vous pouvez vous prélasser dans un hamac toute la journée tout en admirant une faune plus époustouflante que partout ailleurs dans le monde. Mais pour rendre l'expérience encore meilleure, de nombreuses activités de plein air vous en mettrons plein les yeux. Voici quelques-unes de nos favorites:

Parc National du Corcovado

01

Corcovado est un must pour ceux qui cherchent à voir la faune. Cet énorme superficie de 417 km ² (161 miles carrés) de forêts pluviales primaires et secondaires protégées vous impressionnera par sa grandeur. Le Corcovado est l’un des rares endroits au Costa Rica où vous pouvez voir les quatre espèces de singes indigènes ainsi que le plus grand mammifère terrestre d’Amérique Centrale, le Tapir de Baird.

02

Île Caño

 

Cette île inhabitée de 300 hectares (741 acres) se trouve à environ 16 kilomètres de la baie de Drake et est réputée pour la plongée avec tuba et  sous-marine. De magnifiques récifs coralliens et d'iññenses corniches mettent en valeur d'incroyables bancs de poissons colorés. Certaines personnes ont même la chance de voir des dauphins, des baleines ou des requins à pointe blanche lors de leur excursion.

Tours de nuit

03

Drake Bay est l’un des meilleurs endroits au pays pour s’attacher une lampe frontale, et partir en excursion de nuit. Si vous pensiez qu'il y avait beaucoup d'animaux sauvages à voir durant lr jour, vous serez étonné de découvrir la vie nocturne. Les grenouilles, les insectes, les serpents et les oiseaux endormis ne sont que quelques exemples.

Les mangroves de la rivière Sierpe

04

Une demi-journée spectaculaire en bateau sur les mangroves protégées de Terraba-Sierpe vous attend. Principalement dédiée à l'observation des oiseaux, il vous est presque garanti d'apercevoir des hérons, des aigrettes, des cotingas et des balbuzards pêcheurs dans leur habitat naturel. Vous aurez également de bonnes chances de voir des mammifères, tels que les agoutis, les loutres de rivière, ou des paresseux et des reptiles tels que les caïmans, les crocodiles ou encore les boas.

Tour des tortues de mer

05

Notre populaire patrouille nocturne de tortues de mer sur la plage de Drake, à El Progreso, offre une occasion inoubliable de voir un nid de tortues perroquets, en voie de disparition, ou même de relâcher une progéniture en mer. Votre guide expert de l'association de conservation locale ACOTPRO vous décrira le processus de nidification des tortues marines et le programme de protection soutenu par la ville.

06

Randonnée à Jungla del Jaguar

Le sentier côtier de Drake Bay, à la frontière du parc national Corcovado, est une aventure magnifique et GRATUITE. Nous vous recommandons de parcourir ce sentier pendant 4 heures jusqu'à atteindre notre auberge jumelle, La Jungla del Jaguar. Là-bas, vous pourrez rester pour la nuit et reprendre un bateau pour Drake le lendemain matin. Vous pourrez aussi rester plusieurs jours si vous le souhaitez. Le Lodge / auberge propose une des meilleurs tables de la région ainsi qu'une vue magnifique depuis le restaurant.

Tours

Parc National du Corcovado

Durée:de 6h30 à 14h30

Explorez les mystères de la forêt tropicale humide dans un pays qualifié par la National Geographic Society de "l'un des endroits les plus biologiquement intenses de la planète".

Le parc national du Corcovado a été créé le 24 octobre 1975 par décret présidentiel, sous l'administration de Daniel Oduber Quirós. A cette époque, le Corcovado était peuplé d'orpailleurs et d'agriculteurs qui ont finalement été délocalisés par le gouvernement afin de protéger la flore et la faune du parc.

Aujourd’hui, le Corcovado protège la plus grande étendue de forêts tropicales humides des basses-terres du Pacifique en Amérique centrale et abrite les animaux les plus menacés du pays. Randonner à travers les forêts impressionnantes du Corcovado et découvrir la riche biodiversité du parc est une expérience vraiment mémorable et vivement recommandé.

Drake Bay Backpackers propose une gamme d'excursions exclusives dans le Corcovado, explorant les forêts primaires de San Pedrillo, les cascades de Llorona et les aires de reproduction de tapir de Sirena. Toutes les visites comprennent un guide bilingue, les laissez-passer du parc, les repas et le matériel de camping pour les nuits à San Pedrillo.

Excursions d'une journée

-San Pedrillo                                                  $95 par personne

-Sirena                                                            $95 par personne

-Cascade de Llorona                                     $125 par personne

Excursion de plusieurs jours

-Station San Pedrillo, 1 nuit                          $285 par personne

-Station San Pedrillo & Sirena , 1 nuit          $335 par personne

-Station Sirena, 1 nuit                                    $335 par personne

-Station San Pedrillo & Sirena, 2 nuits         $570 par personne

 

Réserve marine de l'île Caño

Durée: de 6h30 à 14h30

La réserve biologique de l'île Caño entoure l'île de  2700 hectares d'eaux protégées. Elle est située à environ 45 minutes en bateau de la baie de Drake.

On pense que cette ancienne île a émergé du Pacifique il y a environ 50 à 60 millions d'années en raison de la subduction de la plaque tectonique de Cocos sous la plaque tectonique des Caraïbes. C'est environ 40 millions d'années plus tòt que la formation de l'isthme d'Amérique Centrale.

L'île Caño était habitée à l'époque précolombienne par la tribu Diquí et servait d'ancien cimetière à ses dirigeants. L'île Caño reçoit plus de coups de foudre que presque tous les autres sites de la planète. Pour cette raison, nous pensons que les autochtones la considéraient comme un lieu sacré.

Des artefacts tels que des poteries et des sphères parfaitement rondes ont été découverts sur l'île, ce qui en fait un site archéologique important, en plus d´être un point chaud biologique. La plupart des poteries trouvées sur l'île de Caño datent de 220 à 1550 après JC.

Bien qu'il existe plus de 150 espèces d'arbres sur l'île, la faune est rare et l'attraction principale est définitivement sous l'eau. Les eaux autour de l’île Caño constituent l’un des meilleurs sites de plongée au Costa Rica, juste après l’île Coco.

Des requins à pointe blanche, des vivaneaux, des tortues de mer, des carangues, des poissons perroquets, des anguilles et plusieurs espèces de raies sont souvent repérés lors de plongées, avec tuba ou sous-marine.

Le trajet en bateau vers l'île de Caño est tout aussi excitant. Nous apercevons souvent des dauphins tachetés, à nez de bouteille, et commun en cours de route. Les baleines à bosse, pseudorcas et autres baleines peuvent être rencontrées en saison.

Nagez avec une incroyable variété de vie marine, y compris des requins, des raies, des tortues de mer et d’énormes bancs de poissons. Les visites comprennent le déjeuner, un guide certifié bilingue, les frais d’entrée au parc marin, le transport et l’équipement.

Tuba                                      $95 per person

Plongée sous-marine           $140 per person

 

*Les plongeurs doivent avoir une certification. Sinon, une requête de découverte de plongée sous-marine sera organisée. Nous contacter pour plus d'informations

Observation des baleines et dauphins

Drake Bay abrite 11 espèces de baleines et de dauphins résidents! Nous accueillons chaque année deux énormes familles de baleines à bosse entre juillet et mars. Notre visite côtière comprend l'observation des baleines et des dauphins, entre l'auberge et l'île de Cano, et dure environ 5 heures. Notre excursion en haute mer comprend une sorite de 30 milles au large pour trouver les mégapodes de dauphins à long bec et à nez plat, récemment présentés dans Planète Bleue 2!

-Les prix varient

RANDONNEE GUIDÉE DE NUIT

Durée: de 19h30 à 22h30

Découvrez la jungle sous un angle totalement différent. Faites une randonnée guidée sur nos sentiers privés pour rechercher toutes sortes de créatures nocturnes, notamment des grenouilles, des kinkajous, des tapirs, des serpents, des opossums, des chauves-souris, des hiboux, des moufettes et d’innombrables insectes. Nos projecteurs sont parfaits pour admirer et photographier, et des bottes en caoutchouc sont également fournies.

-$35 par personne

MONTER À CHEVAL

Chevauchez votre monture à travers des forêts montagneuses primaires et secondaires contenant des arbres géants, des fruits exotiques et des grenouilles toxiques. La visite se termine par la visite d'une cascade pittoresque. Notre guide local compétent apporte les chevaux à l'auberge pour que vous partiez directement de notre jardin.

-$60 par personne 

Mangroves de la rivière Sierpe
Durée: de 6h30 à 14h30

Une demi-journée spectaculaire en bateau sur les mangroves protégées de Terraba-Sierpe vous attend. Principalement dédiée à l'observation des oiseaux, il vous est presque garanti d'apercevoir des hérons, des aigrettes, des cotingas et des balbuzards pêcheurs dans leur habitat naturel. Vous aurez également de bonnes chances de voir des mammifères, tels que les agoutis, les loutres de rivière, ou des paresseux et des reptiles tels que les caïmans, les crocodiles ou encore les boas.

-$120 par personne 

Lagune et sentier de Chocuaco


Horaires flexiblesSpanish Guide

Une excursion unique et spectuculaire en canoë vous attend dans la lagune de Chocuaco, l’un des plus vastes systèmes de zones humides d’Osa. Le lac est entouré par un panorama de forêt vierge et est un refuge pour les oiseaux aquatiques et des fleurs sauvages. Vous aurez l'occasion de vous adonner à la pêche artisanale traditionnelle sur le lac. Vous pourrez ensuite explorer la jungle entourant la lagune, découvrir les secrets et le contexte historique d'importants arbres et de plantes médicinales longeant le sentier puis goûter aux fruits et légumes de saison.

-$ 70 par personne

Observation des tortues de mer
Durée: de 20h00 à 23h00 (d'Aout à Novembre seulement)

Notre populaire patrouille nocturne de tortues de mer sur la plage de Drake, à El Progreso, offre une occasion inoubliable de voir un nid de tortues perroquets, en voie de disparition, ou même de relâcher une progéniture en mer. Votre guide expert de l'association de conservation locale ACOTPRO vous décrira le processus de nidification des tortues marines et le programme de protection soutenu par la ville.

-$35 par personne

Observation des oiseaux

Horaires flexibles

Observez, admirez et appréciez une belle mélodie et une bonne danse interprétées par les oiseaux les plus spectaculaires des tropiques.

Comptant plus de 860 espèces d'oiseaux enregistrées, les forêts du Costa Rica sont pleines de couleurs et de chants.

Les novices comme les professionnels trouveront que c’est une bonne étape pour observer des espèces prisées telles que le resplendissant Quetzal, le Macaw écarlate ou le Toucan à bec de quille.

Certains des plus grands spectacles de la forêt vierge impliquent des oiseaux et fascineront même les observateurs les plus occasionnels.

La baie de Drake et le parc national du Corcovado offrent au Costa Rica la meilleure représentation des espèces de la forêt pluviale des basses terres du Pacifique. Ici, les forêts vierges débordent sur des plages immaculées, ce qui leur donne l’aspect d’être une terre oubliée par le temps.

Près de 400 espèces d'oiseaux ont été répertoriées ici, faisant de tout voyage d'observation d'oiseaux une aventure vraiment passionnante. Les Hawke-Eagles ornés, les Hawk-Hawles en noir et blanc et d’autres grands rapaces s’installent à Drake Bay et dans le parc national du Corcovado.

Parmi les autres espèces, on trouve: les tangara à gorge blanche, les petits tinamous, les hérons tigres à gorge nue, les Grandes Curassows, les Guans huppés, les faucons blancs, les cerfs-volants à deux dents, les cailles en bois marbrées, les aras écarlates, les perroquets à quatre dents, les perroquets de Baird, les trogons de Baird, les Toucans, Aracaris à bec de feu, Puffbirds à col blanc, Jacamars à queue rousse, Manakins à tête rouge et les trois espèces de Honeycreepers. 

-$35 par personne

 

Tour dans la canopée
 

Horaires de départ flexibles

Visitez Corcovado Canopy Tour pour une expérience fantastique de deux heures remplie d'excitation et d'aventure à travers les cimes des arbres de la péninsule d'Osa.
Corcovado Canopy Tour, propriété et exploitation locale, offre aux touristes cette expérience unique depuis 2007. Le Corcovado Canopy Tour offre aux visiteurs une vue plongeante sur la forêt et un aperçu de la région de la forêt rarement vues: la canopée. Rendez-vous face à face avec des singes, des toucans, des aras et d'autres créatures arboricoles. Observez-les dans leur propre habitat alors qu'ils sont immergés dans la couche de forêt qui abrite le plus abondance des vies.
Le circuit comprend 13 plateformes et 11 câbles qui permettent aux visiteurs de traverser les forêts secondaires et primaires. La plateforme la plus haute mesure 30 mètres de haut et les câbles ont une longueur comprise entre 190 et 400 mètres.
Corcovado Canopy Tour est certifié par l'Institut du tourisme du Costa Rica et assuré par l'Institut national des assurances. La sécurité est la première priorité de ce voyage d'aventure.

-$ 65 par personne

Tour flottant sur le Rio ClaroPrice: $ 65
Durée: de 6h30 à 14h00

Cette visite est une façon vraiment unique et amusante d’explorer la magnifique forêt tropicale de Rio Claro, la plage de San Josecito et la baie de Drake. Commençant dans le village de Los Planes, le circuit comprend une promenade à la cascade, suivie d’une baignade, suivie d’une descente de la rivière pour atteindre la côte. Déjeuner à la plage de San Josecito et tous les transports inclus.

Cours d'éducation environnementale

Disponibilité selon le calendrier

Assistez à l’un de nos cours d’éducation à l’environnement après l’école et participez à l’apprentissage avec les enfants de la région! Une excellente activité pour les familles. Vous aurez l’occasion de pratiquer votre espagnol, de créer des jeux écologiques et coopératifs et de vous familiariser avec les merveilles naturelles uniques de la péninsule de Osa, à travers les yeux d’un enfant. Helena, notre éducatrice en matière d'environnement, vous demande d'envisager d'apporter quelque chose pour les enfants lorsqu'ils participeront au cours: tout type de matériel de base ou de matériel d'artiste, une collation à partager ou un petit don.

Prix: un petit don

  • http://www.instagram.com/drakebaybac
  • White Facebook Icon
Featured in:
Jungla Magazine logo.jpg

Whatsap: +506-8959 4067

25 mètres à l'ouest du passage de la Rivière Tortuga, El Progreso de Drake,
Osa Peninsula, Puntarenas, Costa Rica

drakebaybackpackers@gmail.com

WHAT TO DO IN DRAKE BAY

Drake Bay Backpackers tours and custom packages are the best ways to experience Corcovado and the surrounding environments. We can organize San Pedrillo and Sirena Day Trips, Multi-Day Adventures, Cano Island Snorkeling and Diving, Horseback Riding, Whale and Dolphin Watching and much more. 

Once you arrive in the village, nature surrounds you. Drake Bay is the kind of place where you could swing in a hammock all day and still see more amazing wildlife than almost anywhere else in the world. But to make the experience even better, there are lots of outdoor activities that will show you even more. Here are a few of our favorites:

Corcovado National Park

01

For those looking to see wildlife, Corcovado is a must. This huge 417 sq. km. (161 sq. mile) area of protected primary and secondary rainforest will awe you with its grandeur. Corcovado is one of the only places in Costa Rica where you can see all four native monkey species and is also home to Central America’s largest land mammal, the Baird’s Tapir.

02

Caño Island

 

This 300 hectare (741 acre) uninhabited island is about 16 kilometers (10 miles) from Drake Bay and is known for great snorkeling and scuba diving. Beautiful coral reefs and ledges showcase amazingly large schools of colorful fish. Some people even get lucky enough to spot dolphins, whales, or white-tip reef sharks during their visit.

Night Tour

03

Drake Bay is one of the best places in the country to strap on a headlamp and go on a night tour. If you thought there was a lot of wildlife to see during the day, you’ll be amazed at what you can see when the sun goes down. Frogs, insects, snakes, and sleeping birds are just a few examples.

Sierpe River Mangroves

04

A spectacular half-day boat tour of the protected Terraba-Sierpe Mangroves. Primarily a bird watching tour, tourists are almost guaranteed to spot heron, egrets, cotingas and osprey in their pristine natural habitat. But there is also a good chance of spotting mammals too, such as agouti and rivers otters, sloths, and reptiles such as caimans, crocodiles and boas.

Sea turtle tour

05

Our popular 3,000-mile night sea turtle patrol on Drake Beach in El Progreso offers an unforgettable opportunity to see endangered parrot turtles nest or even release offspring at sea. Your expert guide from the local conservation association ACOTPRO will describe how the nesting process works and how the town protects sea turtles.

06

Hike to Jungla del Jaguar

The coastal trail from Drake Bay to the Corcovado National Park border is a stunning and FREE adventure. We recommend hiking the trail for 4 hours until you hit our sister hostel, The Jaguar's Jungle. There, you can stay the night and take the boat back to Drake the next morning, or you can stay for various days if you'd like. The Lodge/hostel boasts some of the best food in the area as well as the best views from the restaurant. 

Tours

Corcovado National Park

 

Duration: 6:30 a.m. at 2:30 p.m.

Explore the mysteries of the rainforest in a land hailed by The National Geographic Society as "one of the most biologically intense places on earth"..

Corcovado National Park was established on October 24th, 1975 by presidential decree during the Daniel Oduber Quirós administration.  At this time Corcovado was settled by gold miners and farmers who were eventually relocated by the government in order to protect the flora and fauna of the park.

Today Corcovado protects the largest tract of Pacific Lowland Rainforest in all of Central America and is home to the country’s most endangered animals. Hiking through Corcovado’s impressive forests and experiencing the park’s rich biodiversity is truly memorable and highly recommended.

Drake Bay Backpackers offers a range of exclusive Corcovado tours, exploring the primary jungles of San Pedrillo, the waterfalls at Llorona, and the tapir breeding grounds of Sirena. All tours include bilingual guide, park passes, meals and camping equipment for San Pedrillo overnights.

Corcovado Day Trips

-San Pedrillo                                                  $90 per person

-Sirena                                                            $90 per person

-Llorona Waterfall                                         $120 per person

Corcovado Overnight Tours

-San Pedrillo Station, 1 Night.                      $280 per person

-San Pedrillo & Sirena Station, 1 Night       $330 per person

-Sirena Station, 1 Night                                 $330 per person

-2 night extreme San Pedrillo & Sirena       $565 per person

 

Caño Island Marine Reserve

Duration: 6:30 a.m. at 2:30 p.m.

Caño Island Biological Reserve encompasses the 200 hectare island and nearly 2700 hectares of the waters surrounding the island. It is located about 45 minutes by boat from Drake Bay.

This ancient island is believed to have emerged from the Pacific about 50-60 million years ago due to the subduction of the Cocos tectonic plate under the Caribbean tectonic plate. This was nearly 40 million years before the Central American Isthmus was formed. 

Caño Island was inhabited in Pre-Columbian times by the Diquí tribe and was used as an ancient cemetery for their ruling elite. Caño Island receives more direct lightning strikes than nearly any other site on earth, so it is believed the natives considered it a sacred place.

Artifacts such as pottery and perfectly round spheres were discovered on the island making it an important archaeological site as well as a biological hotspot. Most of the pottery found on Caño Island dates from 220 to 1550 A.D.

Although there are more than 150 tree species on the island, wildlife is scarce and the main attraction is definitely underwater. The waters around Caño Island constitute some of the best diving and snorkeling in Costa Rica, second only to Coco Island.  

White-tipped Sharks, Red Snappers, Sea Turtles, Jacks, Parrotfish, Eels and several species of Ray are often spotted during diving and snorkeling trips to the Island.

The boat ride out to Caño Island can be just as exciting as Spotted, Bottle-nosed, Spinner and Common Dolphins are often encountered along the way. Humpback Whales, Pseudorcas and other whales may be encountered in season.

Swim with an astounding variety of marine life including sharks, rays, sea turtles and huge schools of fish. Tours include lunch, certified bilingual guide, marine park entrance fee, transportation and equipment.

Snorkeling                     $90 per person

Scuba Diving                 $135 per person

 

*Scuba Divers need to be certified unless requesting a discover scuba trip; please contact us for details

WHALE & DOLPHIN WATCHING

 

Drake Bay is home to 11 species of resident whales and dolphins! Not only that, but we are visited by two huge families of humpback whales each year between July and March. Our inshore tour involves whale and dolphin watching between the hostel and Cano Island and takes approximately 5 hours. Our deep sea trip involves going 30 miles offshore to find the megapods of spinner and bottlenose dolphins, recently featured on Blue Planet 2!

 

-Prices vary

GUIDED NIGHT HIKE

 

Duration: 7:30 p.m. at 10:30 p.m.

Experience the jungle in a completely different light. Take a guided hike on our private trails to search for all manner of night creatures including frogs, kinkajous, tapirs, snakes, opossums, bats, owls, skunks and innumerable insects. Our spotlights are perfect for viewing and photographing, and rubber boots are also provided. 

 

-$35 per person

HORSEBACK RIDING

 

An adventure through primary and secondary mountainous forests containing giant trees, exotic fruits and poisonous frogs. The tour ends with a visit to a picturesque waterfall. Our knowledgeable local guide brings horses to the hostel to depart directly from our front yard.

 

-$60 per person 

Sierpe River Mangroves

Duration: 6:30 a.m. at 2:30 p.m.

A spectacular half-day boat tour (wet landings) of the protected Terraba-Sierpe Mangroves. Primarily a bird watching tour, tourists are almost guaranteed to spot heron, egrets, cotingas and osprey in their pristine natural habitat. But there is also a good chance of spotting mammals too, such as agouti and rivers otters and reptiles such as caimans, crocodiles and boas.

 

-$120 per person 

Chocuaco Lagoon & Trail

Chocuaco lagoon & Trail

Flexible schedules
Spanish Guide

A unique and spectacular canoe trip through Chocuaco Lagoon, one of Osa’s largest wetland systems and best kept secrets. The lake is surrounded by a panorama of virgin mountain forest and is a refuge for water birds and wild flowers. The trip includes an opportunity to try some traditional artisanal fishing while on the lake. From here, guests can explore the jungle surrounding the lagoon, discover the secrets and historical context of important trees and medicinal plants that are along the trail, and have the opportunity to try some seasonal fruits and vegetables.

 

Price: $ 70 per person

Sea Turtle Tour 
Price: $35
Duration: 8:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. (August-November only)

Our popular 3,000-mile night sea turtle patrol on Drake Beach in El Progreso offers an unforgettable opportunity to see endangered parrot turtles nest or even release offspring at sea. Your expert guide from the local conservation association ACOTPRO will describe how the nesting process works and how the town protects sea turtles

Bird Watching

 

Flexible schedule

Witness, admire and delight in a good song and dance performed by the tropics most stunning birds.

Boasting more than 860 recorded bird species, Costa Rican forests are alive with color and song. 

Both the novice and professional alike will find it is a fine stage for observing prized species such as the Resplendent Quetzal, the Scarlet Macaw, or the Keel-billed Toucan.

Some of the rainforest’s greatest spectacles involve birds and will fascinate even the most casual observer.

Drake Bay and Corcovado National Park offers Costa Rica’s best representation of Pacific Lowland Rainforest species. Here primeval forests spill onto pristine beaches giving it the feel of a land forgotten by time.

 Nearly 400 species of birds have been recorded here, making any bird watching trip a truly exciting venture.  Ornate Hawk-Eagles, Black-and-white Hawk-Eagles and other large raptors make their home in Drake Bay and in Corcovado National Park. 

Other species include: White-throated Shrike-Tanagers, Little Tinamous, Bare-throated Tiger-Herons, Great Curassows, Crested Guans, White Hawks, Double-toothed Kites, Marbled Wood-Quails, Scarlet Macaws, Mealy Parrots, Baird’s Trogons, Chestnut-mandibled Toucans, Fiery-billed Aracaris, White-necked Puffbirds, Rufous-tailed Jacamars, Red-capped Manakins, and all three species of Honeycreepers. This is also a great place to see the endemic Black-cheeked Ant-Tanager, which occurs only on the Osa Peninsula.

-$35 per person 

 

Canopy Tour

Flexible departure times

Visit Corcovado Canopy Tour for a fantastic two hour experience packed with excitement and adventure through the treetops of the Osa Peninsula.
Corcovado Canopy Tour is locally owned and operated and has been offering tourists this unique experience since 2007. Corcovado Canopy Tour provides visitors with a birds eye view of the forest and offers guests a glimpse into regions of the forest seldom seen by most: the canopy. Come face to face with monkeys, toucans, macaws and other arboreal creatures and observe them in their own habitat while immersed in the layer of the forest which holds the most abundance of life.
The tour consists of 13 platforms and 11 cables which take visitors through secondary and primary forest. The highest platform is 30 meters high and the cables range between 190 to 400 meters in length.
Corcovado Canopy Tour is certified by the Costa Rican Institute of Tourism and insured by the National Institute of Insurance. Safety is the first priority on this adventure tour.

 

Price $ 65

Rio Claro Floating tour

Price: $ 65
Duration: 6:30 a.m. at 2 p.m.

This tour is a truly unique and fun way to explore the stunning rainforest of Rio Claro, San Josecito Beach and Drake Bay. Beginning in the village of Los Planes, the tour includes a walk to a swimming waterfall followed by a float down the river to reach the coast. Lunch at San Josecito Beach and all transportation included.

Environmental Education Lessons
Price: Small donation
Availability depending on schedule

Come to one of our environmental education classes after school and participate in learning with local children! A great activity for families, you will have the opportunity to practice your Spanish, make environmental and cooperative games and learn about the unique natural wonders of the Osa Peninsula, through the eyes of a child. Helena, our environmental educator, asks that you consider bringing something for the children when they participate in the class – any kind of basic implements or art supplies, a snack to share or a small donation.

Tel: +506-8570-6058

Whatsap: +506-8959 4067

  • http://www.instagram.com/drakebaybac
  • White Facebook Icon

25 meters west of Tortuga River Pass, El Progreso of Drake
Osa Peninsula, Puntarenas, Costa Rica

drakebaybackpackers@gmail.com